SQ101’s Blogger’s Best Interview: Because Out Of All Of Them, Susie Lau From Susie Bubble Wins-No Contest!

August 24, 2011

Thanks Intermixonline.com!

In the MIX with:
Beyond The Bubble

Susie Lau of Style Bubble at INTERMIX Soho.

In the world of fashion blogging, Susie Lau of Style Bubble is considered the blogger to follow. Her unique sense of style, relatable voice, and easygoing attitude have made her one of the most popular girls on the blogosphere. We sat down with Susie at our Soho boutique to talk shopping, blogging, and personal style. Susie is one bubble that shows no sign of bursting!

What’s a typical day like for you?
A typical day is pretty hectic. There’s a lot of visiting showrooms, going to see designers, and attending events at night. You have to see things in person and touch clothes. On the other hand, some days are quite boring: sitting at your iMac, sorting through everything.

How do you make time to actually blog!?
If I have a post in my head, I just get it out. I’ll have my laptop with me and write anywhere when I can find time. I’ll bang a post out in a half an hour—on the tube. I write in an informal way that comes out pretty naturally.

What’s the best part about being a style blogger?
Traveling and seeing stuff I never thought I’d see, and meeting new people. Fashion is not just about the four capitals anymore—London, Milan, Paris and New York—it’s everywhere, and it’s quite cool to discover it and learn about local design scenes. With my job, you get to meet designers and that’s sort of a big part of what I do. That’s been really good and I can do all of that while having fun at the same time. I’ve pretty much met my best friends along the way.

What did you study in college?
I studied history at University College London because I didn’t think I could actually do fashion as a career. In my head I was always going to do something else. When I graduated I actually worked in advertising for a bit. That’s when I started the blog and it was only after then that I worked for Dazed & Confused.

What’s the difference between New York and London fashion?
I think New York fashion is pretty much like London: quite eclectic with a lot of cool-dressed people. Especially when you’re just walking around this part of town [Soho], I think everyone just looks really cool. I think people over there [London] do love their vintage a little bit more. I used to think New York was a bit more conservative and slightly more asleep, because obviously there is more black.

What would you be doing if you weren’t a style blogger?
I would like to be a food critic, actually. That’s my alternative career.

What are some of your favorite restaurants around the world?
I love places like The Fat Duck, which is in Bray, just outside of London. It’s a really famous restaurant with three Michelin stars. There’s also a place in Spain called El Bulli, with three stars I love as well.
 In New York, 
I love Momofuku for the flavor combinations and think it’s kind of cool what they do, Lupa (Mario Batali’s restaurant) for pasta, and I want to go to Marlow & Sons in Brooklyn.

Would you ever start another blog dedicated to food?
I thought about starting a side food blog but so many people already do it so well. Food blogging is probably just as, if not more, well-established than fashion blogging in a way. I read a ton of great food blogs, like tastespotting, which I really like because the pictures are so nice and it makes you think you can actually make the food.

Photo from tastespotting.com

What was your yearbook superlative?
I got “Most Likely to Become the Next Donna Karan.” I came from an all-girls school that was not very fashion-y. I think that was the only designer they could think of. No offense to Donna Karan, because she’s a legend. I did also get an award for wearing a different outfit everyday. I’d buy all these clothes from Hong Kong and Japan and go to school in freaky-deaky outfits and everyone would be like, “Oh, Susie that’s an interesting combination you’ve got on there.” I think people sort of jokingly made fun of how much I loved clothes. That’s why I got the Donna Karan thing.

How would you describe your personal style today?
Eclectic. Definitely experimental. I like a lot of prints and colors and textures. Not genre-specific.

Who are your favorite designers?
I have so many! From New York, I love Proenza Schouler. I love people like Suno, Upwards, Balenciaga, and Givenchy. I tend to like really directional designers—people with a real point of view and sense of fun.

Proenza Schouler bags at INTERMIX.

What’s a fun fact your readers may not know about you?
I’m a classically trained pianist.

What are your beauty basics?
I always have to splash my face with really ice-cold water every morning. It just energizes your skin. If I don’t do it and put moisturizer on, it just doesn’t feel quite right. Also, I love a hot flannel (wash cloth) at night.

What’s your motto in life?
I always say things like, “Dust yourself off and try again.”

Leave a Reply

